Your Favorite Non-Money Things to Negotiate for (Job Offer or Raise)

Time sensitive question here: I’m negotiating the terms of my employment. I’ve been encouraged to be creative about non-money things to ask for (within reason).

What would you ask for? What have you asked for or heard of people asking for (successfully) before? What would you ask for if it was for me (and you know anything about me)?

Assume I’ve been a working professional and have also read basic listicles on this, so I already know about things like PTO or remote work. :rofl:

Thanks!

*** EDITED TO ADD:

Things that cost the organization extra $ (buying things for me, paying for things, etc.) - esp when there is no tax-advantaged or discount way to do it - are basically the same as “money.”

8 Likes

I dont know if its something you are interested in, but working on public holidays on using those days off on another day that better suits you?

2 Likes

I heard recently about someone who has a stipend for one non-fiction book/month and up to 3 sporting even tickets/year.

A sabbatical? (One company I worked with had a paid 4 week sabbatical after 5 years or an 8 week sabbatic after 10 years)

Professional development budget or tuition reimbursement?

Using up to 8hr a week for other consulting arrangements?

5 Likes

A great parking spot

An office with lots of light

6 Likes

1 day a month paid for you to volunteer somewhere you like.

3 Likes

If work from home is a thing, a stipend or something for WFH gear (desk, fancy chair, good quality headphones, etc.) I get a tech reimbursement at my work, not the full amount but I think like 20%?

5 Likes

annual amount for courses & conferences (with travel/hotel/food covered and topics intentionally broad)
cell phone, home internet service
gym membership reimbursement

5 Likes

This made me laugh more than it should have. While a great idea, the chances of FFF staying in the job for 5+ years is <10%.

4 Likes