veganuary anyone?

Hi friends!

I’m interested in transitioning to a plant based diet, and coincidentally my timeline of after the Christmas leftovers lines up with Veganuary! Anyone care to join?

I’ve no idea what the official rules are, and I’m a bit loose on the whole structure thing but how about
Vegans and not vegans are welcome
Trying hard is welcome
Giving yourself gentle rules and grace is good
Lend a hand, give grace, avoid judgement
Mistakesnshmistakes love anyway

13 Likes

I know veganuary is big in the UK but I still find this the most unpronounceable word :sweat_smile::joy:

Anyway I am vegan so I am in. Folks can feel free to ask me if you need help converting something to vegan cheaply, I used to be a vegetarian kitchen manager and conference cook.

4 Likes

My intro
I’m 37, pregnant and have been vegetarian mostly since I was 18. I ate fish for a while when I was handling some medical stuff
As of yesterday the only ways I was eating animal products were - super processed cheese, butter, ice cream, and cream in drive throughs. Eggs in baked goods. So it made absolutely no sense to keep eating them

My challenge point is that I have gluten issues, and need to be prepared for finding or packing vegan options because vegan gf can be tricky for eating out. I think it’s totally solvable!

3 Likes

Want to come here and change all my sunflowers into cheez? My obstacle is that sitting is good :blush:

3 Likes

There is little to no chance I’ll manage to do full vegan this month, but I do really want to inch my food into a more plant-based direction.

I already probably have too many goals for January, so I’m going to be very gentle with my goals.

Make only one meal per day non-vegan. If that seems to hard, replace one non-vegan item you would normally eat with a vegan item.