Talk to me about grad school

I am in a “considering grad school” mode and I would like to hear your experiences of grad school.

1. did you go for your existing career, straight out of college, or to change careers? Did you go for professional, masters, or PHD?

2. did you work full- or part-time when in grad school?

3. how much did you save before grad school? Did you finance your education with student loans, pay cash, get scholarships, have your employer pay, or get another financing option?

4. do you regret it? Was it a good decision? Did it pay off in your career, academically, or in cultural experience?

What I am contemplating

A little about what I am contemplating: my undergrad is in economics with a focus on Transport. I have been working in broadcast radio and multi-media for 3 years, but the job market is quite competitive. A masters in journalism is not at all required to get jobs, but does give you a leg up when looking for jobs. I have been working on my own show (OMD) and have had some journalism pieces syndicated but otherwise have struggled to even get a call back for radio/video producer jobs.

There are many journalism grad programs online or in-state which all would cost me about $30,000-40,000 in the US. For about $15,000, I could get a masters in multimedia journalism in the UK in 1 year, which would also give me an opportunity to live in London again (one of my fav cities on earth other than Moscow and Berlin). Being a student is one of the only ways for US passport holders to get UK visas.

Other options I could do: save that money and instead travel around the world doing journalism for a year without a degree because one doesn’t actually need it.

Get a masters in Germany (I speak german), France, The Netherlands, Denmark or South Africa where the programs are longer but are free or less than $1000 per year.