Sewing Thread

I noticed that quite a few folks on the forum sew! And like to talk about sewing, and we sometimes ask questions about sewing, and I’m trying to learn how to sew…

Sew I’ve formed a sewing thread!

9 Likes

My first question: I have an old Singer sewing machine. My grandmother told me it was pre-70s but couldn’t quite remember, and it’s avocado green.

I can get you the model number when I get home.

The question: What kind of oil is safe to use on it?

I have sewing machine oil, but it’s at my dad’s place and I can’t access it right now. Craft stores around me are not open as they’re not seen as essential.

3 Likes

OH HELLO
I’m here for this.

I’m a novice sewer. My mom taught me some things as a Smol person so I have a pretty decent but basic understanding of how sewing works. I can change thread out on my machine, wind a bobbin, and trouble shoot technical issues to a certain level. I also know the basic rules and techniques of sewing (right sides together, how to make a bias hidden edge binding, etc.) :slight_smile:

I’m definitely at the level where what I want to achieve is beyond my skills, but I’m willing to fuck up a lot in order to get there. :wink:
I want to level up, specifically in terms of pattern making. I want to dress myself how I desire, with clothes that fit. :tada:

6 Likes

Order some sewing machine oil and wait for it. It won’t cost much, three or four dollars. You should be able to get it on Amazon. I may have the exact same sewing machine, so check the model number. I’m trying to figure mine out, still, but maybe we can muddle through it together.

2 Likes