Stoicism: Conversations, Quotations, Ideas

Welcome to the stoicism thread! Feel free to share what you’re reading, listening to, or thinking about.

4 Likes

I’ll start with my favorite quote, from Epictetus (my favorite Stoic and a notable disabled person from history!):

“It is impossible for a man to learn what he thinks he already knows.”

I think about this a lot and it helps me challenge my assumptions on things I think I know, especially from personal experience. It helps me limit my tendency to extrapolate from my own experience and apply things too generally.

8 Likes

I’m quite new to Stoicism, so I’ve been listening to several TED talks about it and I liked these two because they explained how it can literally save your life if you’re suffering from depression, bipolar disorder or other emotional problems.

How philosophy can save your life | Jules Evans | TEDxBreda
I learned that CBT was inspired by ancient Greek Philosophy and I saved this quote from Epictetus to use it as a mantra when I start spiralling : People are not disturbed by things, but by the views they take of them. Thank you @AllHat . I didn’t know Epictetus was disabled, I’m even more inspired. I’ll look more into his story and writing.

Why you should define your fears instead of your goals | Tim Ferriss
Tim Ferris explained how he suffers from bipolar depression with 50+ major depressions and how he even considered suicide at some point. Stoicism is the tool he uses to avoid ‘emotional free fall’. He shares how he adapted an exercise from Seneca called ‘premeditatio malorum’ that he adapted to create a ‘fear-setting’ exercise. I saved this quote from Seneca that hit home We suffer more often in imagination than in reality. I’m still to try the exercise but I really liked the idea of defining my fears and putting in paper the worst that can happen, how I can prevent it, what would be the outcome if I do nothing and the outcome if I do something.