Living in another country as a low-skill worker?

General, non-time sensitive question here.

I’ve been thinking for a long time that I’d like to live in different countries around the world, not permanently in one country, but maybe a few years here, a few years there before maybe returning to the US (or maybe permanently going somewhere else! Who knows!).

I’m starting to think about it more seriously, but don’t know where to get started. I’m going to be 26 soon, I have a bachelor’s degree but am currently working as an admin assistant at a nonprofit and doing freelance work. I don’t have any skills that I think would make other countries/big companies want me. I also have a lot of debt, which I vaguely think is a red flag for other countries giving out visas (they don’t want to harbor a debt dodger right?)

I know this is a very general question, but I guess I was just interested if anyone has any information or experience on something like this. Has anyone lived in another country for a year or two without being in a high-powered career? Is it a mistake to interrupt my normal career progress (lol what progress) by bopping around the world? Are there certain careers that allow for this?

1 Like

Not at all weird to interrupt “career progress” with time abroad. Depending on your skills here are some things that are easy to do

• Teaching English. Big demand, and good money in many Asian countries. You can take an TEFL certification class or get experience teaching online through something like VIPKid (also a good side hustle) but in some countries, they are desperate no matter what your experience is. For some countries you need to be a native english speaker to get the visa to do this. You make good money in some countries - Japan and Saudi Arabia - terrible money in other- Thailand.